Skip to content
June 16, 2008 / Dave Birss

A big thank you to my new friends at Qype

Last week the lovely people at Qype invited Lea and I out for a sushi and sake evening at Tsuru – a new Japanese restaurant in Southwark. It’s located in the very heart of the soul-less Bankside123 development – but fortunately isn’t tarred with the usual homogenous chainstore brush. The food and matching sake (courtesy of the Akashi-Tai Sake brewery) was probably the best Japanese culinary action I have ever experienced. And I’m now a total fan of sake – having washed everything down with a huge variety of fermented rice juice. Yum! But I’m not going to say any more about the meal here. Instead, you can read my raving review on Qype. Then I can skip on to talking about my fellow diners.

They were a mix of influential London bloggers and web 2.0-ists, including Annie Mole from the London Underground blog, Mex from Moo.com, Chris and Hazel from the Londonist, Niamh from eatlikeagirl, Tim from theplummetonions, Rob and Sabrina from Qype and, of course, my lovely fiancée. And because we’re all a bunch of opinionated yakkers, our conversations outlasted the meal and we had to continue them at a nearby pub (before abandoning them unfinished at chucking-out time).

So a big thank you to everyone for a great night. And I’m already looking forward to a sequel in the near future.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Niamh / Jun 16 2008 2:19 pm

    Lol, a great description of the night. Your opinionated yakkers line made me chuckle 🙂

    Looking forward to catching up with you and Lea and the others another time soon! Lea and I are talking about arranging a picnic. Would be fun!

  2. Annie Mole / Jun 16 2008 6:08 pm

    Hi Dave – it certainly was a pleasant highlight in the otherwise rather ghost town like and tumble weed looking Bankside development.

    Look forward to meeting you & Lea again some time.

    Niamh & Lea – a picnic sounds like a fab idea – I still have a few complimentary tickets to Kew Gardens and might be able to blag some more if I talk nicely to the guy who runs their photography section as he’s a big fan of Flickr – so if we promise to take lots of lovely pictures this might be a go-er.

  3. Niamh / Jun 19 2008 11:15 am

    Annie – that sounds fantastic! We’re thinking of Saturday 5th July. Would that work for you?

  4. Lea / Jun 19 2008 1:12 pm

    Wonderful stuff people. Who else should join our foodie-fest? Lea x

  5. davebirss / Jun 19 2008 1:23 pm

    Yay! A foodie grub-fest!

    I can’t wait.

Leave a comment