Skip to content
October 12, 2012 / davebirss

My Silicon Beach talk on how to kill creativity

Thanks to my book, I’ve spent much of the last year explaining the creative process to people and showing them how to have more ideas.

And during that time it’s become clearer and clearer to me that most organisations are actually set up to destroy ideas. Every part of the process leads to compromise, adequacy and the destruction of anything truly fresh.

That has led me to starting work on another potential book about how organisations destroy creativity; and what they can do to help it flourish.

So I decided to do my Silicon Beach talk about these very issues. But – to make it more interesting – I decided to do it from the opposite point of view. This talk is an instructional guide on how to murder ideas before they can have any effect on a business.

I’ve recorded a voiceover so you can hear most of what I spoke about. It’s less than 10 minutes. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

