Skip to content
April 30, 2012 / davebirss

The Future of Advertising Podcast: Episode 9 – George Lois gives us some damn good advice

I still can’t believe I got to interview George Lois.

He’s been one of my biggest influences for years. And such a legend that I thought he would be unreachable.

But I took a chance anyway, hunted him down on the internet and asked for an interview.

I was rather taken aback when he agreed.

I went to his apartment in downtown Manhattan (where the 80 year old still plays basketball on the streets). He welcomed me in and gave me nearly three hours of interview. I found out what Bill Bernbach was like, heard that DDB in the 1950s wasn’t the paradise we imagine it was, listened to how George got into the industry and asked him questions I was given by Sir John Hegarty, Billy Mawhinney, Dave Trott and Steve Henry.

And he talked about his latest book: Damn Good Advice (for people with talent).

As we were saying goodbye he gave me a big hug and invited me to dinner next time I’m in New York. I plan to take him up on the offer! (Apparently his wife makes the best Apple Pie you’ll ever taste.)

So, you can hear the first part of the interview in the latest podcast. The second part will be coming to you very soon.

The podcast has been hijacked by my daughter who kept asking me when the next episode was coming out. As did a bunch of you lovely listeners. And she asks me why there’s been such a delay.

The truth is that the sponsorship deal with the School of Communication Arts has held us up slightly. We were hoping to have finalised some sponsors for the school by now – but things have dragged on longer than we hoped. However, we should be bringing you some sponsored podcasts very soon. But in the meantime, we had to start releasing some of the 10 hours of content in the archives. There’s stuff in there from Tony Brignall, Sir John Hegarty, Robin Wight, Will Awdry, Steve Henry and a bunch of other advertising legends.

So stay tuned.

We’re back on track.

And if you haven’t subscribed to the iTunes feed yet, you can find it right here.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. yasminselena / Apr 30 2012 10:59 pm

    Very well done on your scoop Mr Birss! And great apple pie is not to be sniffed at especially when it’s home-made : )

  2. Sheldon / May 1 2012 7:40 pm

    I thought your podcast was lost, great way to re-emerge. Looking forward to part 2. Continue doing it the Birss way!

Leave a Reply

