Skip to content
April 17, 2012 / davebirss

Now available in all good bookshop (singular)

This afternoon was a big deal for me. The book is finally available to buy in a bookshop. I feel slightly more published now than I felt when I woke up this morning!

There’s something magical about bookshops. I can spend ridiculous amounts of time just browsing around, admiring some wonderful pieces of design and marvelling at the millions of hours of thought and effort that are contained in a single shelf. You don’t quite get that feeling with a Kindle. Although that’s the way my personal book-buying is likely to go.

This particular bookshop is a rather special one too.

It’s just a few minutes walk from where I live. It’s totally independent. It stocks the best design and creativity books. And it’s run by the very lovely and helpful Pete.

Shortly after I got my first run of books delivered, I asked Pete for his opinion on the book. His general feedback was that it was great – except for the cover. He’d be happy to stock it if I got it redesigned. That sparked some more pathetic attempts at book design before the talented John De Vries came to the rescue.

So today I was passing the shop again – and I just so happened to have a new copy of the book in my bag. I went in to see Pete and he made an order right away. Within half an hour I was back in the shop with his first batch.

Exciting stuff!

So if you’re in the area, pop into Clerkenwell Tales, pick up a copy of the book and tell them I say hello.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. yasminselena / Apr 18 2012 6:29 am

    Very well done Dave!
    I am so impressed at how quickly you achieve something when you set your mind to it ; )

Leave a Reply

