Skip to content
June 30, 2011 / davebirss

Will you join the MySpace Death Day sweepstake?

I’m not a betting man.

I’ve been known to put a pound on the Grand National if somebody’s doing an office sweepstake. But I’ve never stepped inside a bookies in my life.

So after my prediction a couple of days ago that MySpace will shuffle off this mortal coil some time in December, I’ve now put my money where my mouth is. And I’ve started up a bet you can all join in with. It’s legal. And it should be pretty easy to join in. Big thanks to Dom Udall for pointing me in the direction of Betable to make this happen.

(If you’re big into betting, please have a look and tell me if I’ve done anything wrong.)

Since my initial prediction, MySpace has been bought (for considerably below the asking price, apparently). However, I don’t think that changes anything. I still think the site is dead in people’s minds and will continue to haemorrhage users. The new owners may decide to revamp it, or change what it does or strip it down for parts – but what we’re betting on here is the day that myspace.com ceases to operate as a hub for bands. That means we’re looking for the date it would change it’s name, or move to another URL, or change the purpose of the site or even close completely.

Ladies and Gentlemen, place your bets here.

Good luck. And spread the word!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Rob Arnold / Jul 1 2011 11:40 am

    As discussed! I have stuck a quid on Jan 2012 🙂

Leave a Reply

