Skip to content
November 21, 2010 / davebirss

I’ve made it!

Last month my girlfriend suggested that I do the NaNoWriMo challenge to get a bit further with the book I’m writing. It’s a great idea but I’m just not at that stage yet. I need to do a lot more brain-wracking before I get on with the keyboard rattling. And a word count just isn’t the best way to measure success right now.

So I compromised and agreed to write a blog post every day for a month.

I’d kind of lost touch with the blog over the last year or so because Twitter is a much easier way of making comments and sharing interesting stuff. And I’ve also been giving blue arsed flies a run for their money. But writing blogposts is a great way of thinking things through and organising your thoughts. And I’ve missed that.

I wasn’t actually sure that I’d succeed with the challenge. I thought I’d run dry after a couple of weeks and struggle to find things to write about. I thought I’d end up churning out short and shallow posts just to fill up some blog-space. But I’ve found that the opposite has happened. I’ve actually struggled to keep my posts at a manageable length. And it’s forced me to do a lot more thinking. And over the last 31 days it’s multiplied my daily visitors by a factor of ten! (Thank you for dropping by!)

Now that I’ve got some momentum, I’m planning to keep at it. I feel that I’ve still got lots to write about.

However, I’m looking forward to taking a few days off here and there.

The challenge has been fun to do – but thank the baby Jeebers it’s over!

Leave a Reply

