Skip to content
November 15, 2010 / davebirss

Remember the past to appreciate the present

I’ve just discovered this wonderful poster on Behance. It shows how many floppy discs it would take to store some of today’s popular applications. For example, you’d need 46 floppies to store iTunes, 358 for Photoshop CS4 and an astounding 1760 for The Sims 3.

Wow!

It just made me think how much we take technological advances for granted. The first computer I used had 1K of memory. I then progressed to a whopping 48K Spectrum. My first PC had about 10Meg. And now I’m sitting in front of a Mac with 320Gb of storage with more than a Terabyte of external drives. I remember how excited I was when I first got dial-up internet. And now I’ve got a (supposedly) super-fast (and hellishly glitchy) broadband connection that (in theory) lets me download massive files in seconds.

Spare a thought for the way things used to be and be amazed all over again at how amazing technology is.

This old film might help you:

Leave a Reply

