Skip to content
November 12, 2010 / davebirss

What I love about advertising

My girlfriend pointed out that I’ve done a fair amount of bitching in my last couple of posts. I’m sorry. This industry has been good to me and the reason I’m so opinionated is because I still have a lot of love for it and I want to see it be as good as it can be. So she set me a challenge to write something I love about the industry today. I’m going further than that. Here are 25 things that I’ve loved about being an advertising creative:

  1. I didn’t have to wear a suit or iron a shirt or wipe tuna mayonnaise off my tie
  2. I got to draw pictures now and then
  3. It encouraged me to consume lots of amazing and inspiring stuff
  4. It gave me a massive spine-tingling high when I solved a problem well
  5. I’ve met some of the loveliest, most inspiring people in the industry
  6. It paid an above-average wage
  7. It embraced being different
  8. It taught me the hard lesson of how to handle rejection
  9. It provided me with tangible achievements I can show people
  10. It regularly pandered to my ego
  11. There’s no better buzz than somebody telling you about this great new thing they’ve seen – and it’s yours
  12. I can’t think of many other industries that would have tolerated my hangovers in the same way
  13. It gave me a chance to learn about film, photography and technology from some of the most talented people in those fields
  14. It made me strive to be constantly better in exactly the same way as accountancy wouldn’t
  15. It taught me the importance of simplicity and single-mindedness
  16. It taught me to defend things I believe in
  17. It taught me a massive amount about problem solving
  18. It taught me a massive amount about craftsmanship
  19. It taught me a massive amount about effective communication
  20. It taught me a little bit about the art of persuasion
  21. On the whole, the industry rewards people for hard work and talent
  22. I got some nice jollies out of it
  23. I managed to get through almost 20 years of being late for work nearly every morning
  24. I looked forward to work most days
  25. I only got fired twice

Have I missed anything? Got any great positive points to add? Share it with the group, people.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Mansi / Nov 14 2010 4:08 pm

    Only in advertising can I talk about diapers and home loans with a lot of passion in the same day!

  2. Steeeeve / Nov 14 2010 5:30 pm

    You’re so right. Frustrating as this industry can be, it’s given me some great experiences that I wouldnt have got elsewhere. Like a casting of lots of models in their underwear. I’m still trying to get a jolly to a tropical beach though.

  3. davebirss / Nov 14 2010 7:05 pm

    Absolutely! I once did a casting with lots of underwear-clad models. Then, on the day of the shoot, when the model was getting into a bath on the set, the photographer turned to me and asked me why I had decided to use a guy not a girl – and I realised that I’d made a big mistake. I had done a series of scamps with both guys and girls – and the client had chosen a concept that happened to arbitrarily have a guy in it. And I hadn’t thought of changing the sex of the person until it was too late. Bugger! A missed opportunity.

  4. Shriya / Nov 15 2010 8:05 am

    And the only place where we can lie, legally’ 😉 !

    • davebirss / Nov 15 2010 8:12 pm

      Hi Shriya. I don’t know what country you’re in but lying in advertising in the UK is – quite rightly – outlawed. And I’m sure it’s a foolish thing to do in any country. I’m afraid I couldn’t agree less with your comment.

Leave a Reply

