Skip to content
July 19, 2010 / davebirss

Gettin’ down on the Diddley Bow

One of my favourite Unchained shops in London is the amazing Duke of Uke. And I’m not the only one. My daughter makes me go in every time we pass. Thanks to them, we’ve got 5 ukeleles in our home. And now this very beautiful three-stringed Diddley Bow.

The picture above is the actual one I’ve got (you can see more about them here). It’s made out of a Romeo Y Julieta cigar box, a couple of old bolts, a door hinge, some tuning pegs and a plank. It’s electric. There are no frets. And you play it with a bottleneck. I love, love, love it!

So when it came to writing the music for my new podcast, this was my instrument of choice. I set up a microphone, started up Garage Band – and this is the result:

>>> Future of Advertising Podcast Theme <<<

Have a listen and tell me what you think.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Charles Frith / Jul 19 2010 6:12 pm

    Amazingly rich sound.

    • davebirss / Jul 19 2010 6:37 pm

      Thanks Charles. I can’t believe how much you can get out of this old cigar box. I love this instrument. Wish I’d discovered it years ago!

  2. Paul Grizzell / Jul 21 2010 10:02 am

    Loving the fusion licks.

    • davebirss / Jul 21 2010 11:24 am

      Fusion? Huh? I’m not Al Di Meola dude!

  3. Hema Menon / Aug 1 2010 5:19 pm

    Hi, this is awesome!

    • davebirss / Aug 1 2010 8:46 pm

      Cheers Hema,

      Glad you like it

      πŸ˜€

  4. Chris Reilly / Aug 4 2010 1:33 pm

    This is brilliant! Really looking forward to hearing the podcast.

    • davebirss / Aug 4 2010 1:41 pm

      Thanks Chris, I’m halfway through editing it. I’ll hopefully have it up before the end of next week. Hope the new job’s going well πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

