Skip to content
May 27, 2010 / davebirss

I have an announcement

This little paragraph in the back of Campaign today announces a couple of great things.

First, that OgilvyOne has a fantastic new Head of Digital Creative. Pav is one half of the team (alongside Jamie Romaine) that were responsible for the brilliant Wimbledon Seer app – and lots of other pieces of digital loveliness. He is truly awesome and I wish him every success.

And the second thing is all about me.

Me, me, me, me, me, me, me.

I’ve decided to leave OgilvyOne to concentrate on the things that are really exciting me right now. And we’ve managed to part company on the most amicable terms. I couldn’t be happier!

You don’t have to be Sherlock Holmes to make a few deductions from the contents of the sporadic entries preceding this one.

– I’ve been VERY busy. Too busy to blog. I’d like to change that.

– I’ve been doing a lot of educational talks recently. And I love them.

– A quick glance to the right hand column also shows that I’ve been doing a lot of my ranting through Twitter instead of here. It’s faster and easier. For you as well as me.

So what am I going to do? Is Campaign right? Am I starting up a digital training business?

Well, ehm, yes.

I was a bit surprised that it’s got out this early before I’ve had a chance to properly make plans! But – it’s true – I want to offer my digital education and inspiration program to other agencies. They’ve been a labour of love. I’ve been putting them together in my evenings because I’ve just not had the time during office hours.

I’ve found that the training has been a great help within Ogilvy. It’s helped to inspire Creatives to come up with great digital ideas. It’s helped us to spot new opportunities. Which means that clients get better work and – more importantly – users get more rewarding, relevant and original experiences. It seems to work because OgilvyOne appear to be my first client!

[Here comes the sales bit] If you’re an agency that wants to find out more about upping your digital skills, drop me a line and put the kettle on.

I’ve also got other plans that I want to pursue. Like writing a book, starting a long overdue podcast, making the web dyslexia-friendly and trying to be the best single dad in Christendom.

I’ve got a few more weeks here at Ogilvy Towers. Hopefully enough time to pack my parachute and be properly prepared.

Wish me luck!

More news coming very soon.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Stan Lee / May 27 2010 10:48 am

    Great stuff Dave.
    Admire your ability to walk away from a job and go it alone.
    Good luck! Best…Stan

  2. Anjali Ramachandran / May 27 2010 10:54 am

    Congrats Dave! Sounds really challenging but equally exciting, and a brave move to make. I love the fact you’re listening to your heart. All the very best1

  3. lise lauritzen / May 27 2010 11:21 am

    Hi Dave

    Well done – you’ve never been afraid to go it alone, so I’m sure you’re going to be awesome.

    I’ll keep my eyes peeled for progress ; )

  4. james / May 27 2010 11:48 am

    wow, awesomeness! congratulations and good luck dave. looking forward to your return to embloggening and maybe some more slideshare goodness too.

  5. davebirss / May 27 2010 12:54 pm

    Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    It’s great to be able to tell people about this. And even better to get such lovely feedback.

    If you can think of anyone I should speak to, please say. I’ll need to start picking up clients!

  6. Yasmin Selena Butt / May 27 2010 12:56 pm

    : )

    Dave,

    What can I say?

    I am so glad you are finally going to get your life back, and get to do all those other things that have been waiting patiently for you.

    Hurrah for you – oh and nice Pixies tweet I spotted on the right, did you finally get to see them live?

    Yasmin x

    • davebirss / May 27 2010 1:19 pm

      Thanks Yasmin,

      I’m so excited! I’m seeing the Pixies for the first time next week. Just been swatting up on their back catalogue again.

      😀

      • Yasmin Selena Butt / May 28 2010 12:27 pm

        I still remember the pant-wetting excitement of seeing them play in 2004, when they first reformed. That was my first time too. It made the 15 year old girl in me very, very happy.

        Have a great time : )

  7. Marc / May 27 2010 2:24 pm

    Congrats.
    Give me a shout to talk more about School of Communication Arts. It all kicks off in September and I would be thrilled to get you more involved.
    Hugs,
    marc

Leave a Reply

