Skip to content
September 19, 2009 / davebirss

Graphic goodness on the iPhone

In the last couple of weeks I’ve downloaded a couple of iPhone apps that have seriously blown me away. And I thought it might be a good idea to share them.

The first is TiltShiftGen. It automatically creates beautiful TiltShift miniaturisations that look incredible. It doesn’t feel like your usual iPhone app – it feels a lot more professional. The interface is lovely and really easy to use.  And as a poor example of what it can do, here’s a shot of my twitter alterego @ImLondonBridge:

minibridge

If this is the kind of thing you’d like to play with, you can get it here for a measly 59 pence. And you can see better shots on Nathan’s blog here.

The second app that I’m loving big time is Sketchbook Mobile. It’s an iPhone version of Autodesk’s Sketchbook Pro application and it’s just incredible. It’s got layers, can integrate photography and seems to have the uncanny ability to make you draw better than you can with actual pen and paper. Here’s a 3 minute self portrait I did when I was testing it out:

mesketch

There’s a free version of this to try out first. But for a paltry £1.79 I recommend upgrading to the full version. You can get it here.

This stuff has excited me because it feels as if the iPhone is moving from just games and simple widgety things to running full-on applications. I’m looking forward to seeing what other wonderful things pop up in the next few months.

Leave a Reply

