Skip to content
August 11, 2008 / davebirss

Kangaroo jumps off the bandwagon

It’s been a real point of frustration for years while working below-the-line or online: that the strategic lead and ‘big idea’ comes from an ad agency that doesn’t understand the need to integrate. There have been countless times that I’ve been handed print-outs of press ads or a DVD of a TV ad and told to come up with an online idea or DM pack that fits in with the campaign. Then I look at the stuff and find that it’s a strategically thin brand idea and the client is looking for a direct response piece.

So, it was quite refreshing to read about Kangaroo’s approach on Brand Republic. They’re looking for a digital agency that will be the strategic lead for all their communications work. I think that’s a great idea – not because I want to stick one in the eye to ad agencies (I’m not one of those below-the-line bitches with an axe to grind – I worked above-the-line for a long time myself). I think it’s great because the product lives online, their audience lives online and online will be the core of their communications. And because I’ve seen such fantastic planners moving to digital in the last few years.

Well done Kangaroo!

And if you don’t know what Kangaroo is – shame on you! It’s the future of British online TV where the BBC, Channel 4 and ITV programming will all be available in the one place. And I for one can’t wait to see it.

Leave a Reply

