Skip to content
June 25, 2008 / davebirss

Too much data is a bad thing

I recently got engaged. My fiancée is nearly as geeky as me, so we changed our Facebook profiles to say that we’re engaged to each other. That seemed like the right thing to do. So now whenever we go into Facebook we’re faced with ads like the one above. And I hate it.

I object to my data being used like this. I know the argument is that I’m seeing advertising that’s relevant to me, so it’s more likely to be useful. But it just makes me feel as if I’m being stalked. It feels a bit like a total stranger coming up to me in the street and telling me that he knows where I live, what my favourite food is and that I like to dress up in ladies underwear when I’m home alone.

Creepy.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Catcher In The Rye / Jun 25 2008 5:05 pm

    I think you have revealed a bit too much Dave. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

