Skip to content
June 20, 2008 / davebirss

Anyone fancy a thought shower?

I’ve never been a fan of brainstorming. I think they are the refuge of the talentless. And I think I should expand on that in another post.

So I was interested to hear that a local council has succeeded in getting rid of them for good. But only by changing what they call them. They thought that the term ‘brainstorm’ might be offensive to epileptics and people with mental illness. So they decided to call them ‘thought showers’ instead. Which offends me. I prefer to take a bath.

Read more about it here.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Anjali Ramachandran / Jun 20 2008 4:42 pm

    I’ll wait for your post on why you dislike brainstorming. I’m a fan of it, because I always think one’s next great idea can originate from someone else’s thoughts/ramdom words/ideas!! Except of course it has to be reined in and kept and eye on. It’s also a good time-wasting tactic for big bureaucratic companies, on the negatives side that is. Hmm. There you go. Take it up from there. 🙂

  2. Rachel / Jun 21 2008 7:33 pm

    lol yeah they told us all about that in high school, we had thought trees, thinking webs and idea explosions…

Trackbacks

  1. 10 reasons why brainstorming sucks « The Dictionary of Specific Generalities
  2. How to create a sales promotion « Sales Promotion Blog

Leave a Reply

