Skip to content
April 10, 2008 / davebirss

iTunes and Firefox had a baby

I have a little system going. I allow myself 5 Stumbles a day. No more, no less. And yesterday on the third time I hit the Stumble button I discovered Songbird.

If you imagine the bastard offspring of iTunes and Firefox, you’re pretty close. You see, it’s like iTunes with a web browser built in. You use it to visit music blogs or do a web search for mp3s. Alongside the webpage, it shows you a list of the linked mp3s and allows you to listen to them, download them or buy them. (Please steal your music responsibly, children.) It’s not even in beta stage yet – but you can download the slightly glitchy developers’ version from their site. I’m enjoying it – but I have a sneaking suspicion that I’ll revert back to iTunes for most of my listening and just use it occasionally. But, for now, I’m hooked!

Leave a Reply

