Skip to content
April 6, 2008 / davebirss

How I found the search

SearchMe

Last week I got my username and password to try out the beta version of SearchMe – the new visual search engine. And, naturally, I’ve had a bit of a play with it. I’m trying to overlook the fact that my antique Mac is a bit glitchy and juddery, so I’m not getting the best experience. But what I’m taken by isn’t the coverflow-style of scrolling through the page previews – it’s the contextual filter for your search. Unfortunately they’ve made it look as if it’s for primary kids by adding some irritating little icons for them.
On the whole, though, it’s a pretty interesting product. And it’ll be so much more useful when they’ve indexed a few billion more web pages. Go and register for the beta version and see for yourself. If you’ve got a relatively new computer, that is.

Leave a Reply

