Skip to content
January 28, 2008 / davebirss

Aaah! Remember Etch-A-Sketch?

Etch-A-Sketch. Just the name brings back memories of early childhood frustration. Afternoons filled with jaggedy diagonal lines and screaming matches with my brother after he destroyed my masterpiece with a swift cocktail-making maneouvre. The whole thing was sooooo analogue. But now that’s all changed.

Etch a sketch wired

I was slightly shocked to see that they’ve made Etch-A-Sketch into a fully-digital disappointment. You simply plug the twin-dialed handset into your television and twist and turn your way to creative mediocrity.

See the fantastic Etch-A-Sketch Wired TV ad right here.

And in the last couple of years I’ve noticed a couple of people with super-human/painfully-autistic talent on the old twin-nobbed canvas. First of all it beggers the question ‘how?’ – closely followed by ‘why?’. But if you want to be wowed by the talents of these Idiot Savants, here are a couple of scratchy monochrome galleries to admire. Just click on the images to see more.

Etchasketchist

Etched in time

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Etchasketchist / Jan 29 2008 9:14 pm

    Quit with the “autistic” and “idiot savant” slurs. It’s not original and it’s not funny. You make art with fax machines. What’s your mental disability?

  2. ETCHA / Jan 31 2008 3:45 pm

    I’ll tell you what offends me………. reading an article or post about Etch A Sketch artists and NOT seeing my name included and NOT seeing my work referenced to. I don’t care if you call me an artistic, autistic idiot as long as my work gets mentioned. Then I can stop posting these comments long enough to get some ‘real’ work done on my EAS.
    Thanks.
    -Etcha

Trackbacks

  1. Offending people since 1971 « The Dictionary of Specific Generalities

Leave a Reply

