Skip to content
November 14, 2007 / davebirss

Vector Magic lives up to its name

One of my colleagues passed around a link for a site called Vector Magic. It allows you to upload a graphic image and it automatically converts it to a vector file. I was a bit skeptical of how good it would be, but on the whole, I’m pretty impressed. I tried it first with a screengrab of a vector image and it performed really well. Then I decided to try it with a photograph of me (taken by my good friend and design god Dan Donovan). These are the results:

SwampThang

Pretty good. I had to offset the paths by half a pixel to fill in the tiny white lines around the blocks of colour – but I’m still impressed. This is a close up:

SwampThang

I love it when the internet offers you something useful like this. It’s impressed me enough to bookmark it, digg it, blog about it and send the link on to some of my friends. If only companies offered their customers this much value online.

Leave a Reply

